Family · General · Uncategorized

5 Fall Favorites

Let me just start this out by saying, I. Love. Fall. Seriously I do. It is by far my favorite season of the year! There are just so many things to love about it!  –I know that some of you are trying not to cry right now. Thinking, “Well yes, fall is nice. But do you now what comes next? WINTER! The freezing cold. The ice & snow. And the sun is setting so EARLY!” — Yes, yes, I know. But there are some great things about winter as well! For now let’s move the focus back to fall…….Changing focus…… Ok, here we go! 5 fall favorites

1. Wondrous Weather

Seriously guys… I l.o.v.e. the weather in Autumn. How can you describe those amazing autumn days? Well, to put it simply, they are AMAZING! Standing in the woods. Feeling the cool breeze blow through your hair. Watching the leaves fall to the ground. Hearing them crunch under your feet as you walk. Everything about it is so beautiful!

2. Sweater Season

Time to dig out the sweaters! Because otherwise you will freeze. Oh wait, never mind. Now you feel like you are in an oven! It can definitely be a challenge sometimes when you are trying to figure out what to wear. This is the time of year when you have to change your clothes 2 or 3 times a day. Or learn to dress in layers. Which I have still not  figured out  totally learned how to do. (Just ask my family, I wear short sleeves and go barefoot in February.)

3. Bountiful Baking

Ahhh…. The baking. As my friends and family know, my motto is ‘bake in bulk or don’t bake at all.’ For me that is especially true in the fall and winter months. Is there anything tastier than fresh baked bread spread with just made butter? Probably not — wait, what about tacos?? Wow, I really need to stay focused. Back to the bread. — I always love baking breads, brownies, cakes, pies, and many other things. But I think  baking is even more enjoyable with the windows open and a crisp fall air sweeping into the kitchen. And of course with a younger sibling sitting on the counter helping!

4. Rest & Relaxation

My family is still crazy busy (like always) but we still have a lot of fun (like always). As the leaves change, the weather gets colder, and the days get shorter, It’s time to slow down a little bit. You know that book that you couldn’t find time to read this summer? The game that you didn’t have time to play? The puzzle that never got built? The scarf that is half crocheted? Go get the book, finish your project, and (As my dad says) have some rest and relaxation! Of course there are still things to do, and there always will be! But after a crammed busy summer, it’s time to slow things down and get ready to settle in for winter. And that is such a wonderful feeling!

5. Family Fun

Family. How can I even start to explain my crazy, awesome, wonderful family? We have such a great time all year long! It really doesn’t matter what we are doing, we try to make it fun. Even working is very enjoyable if you have the right attitude! In the fall we rake huge piles of leaves from our yard. Then we will all take turns swinging on the swings and jumping off into the huge leaf pile. (Make sure you don’t swing to high or jump to far. You will miss the leaf pile and smash the ground. Hard. Trust me I know!) No matter what season of the year it is, take time to enjoy your family. Make memories that will last a lifetime! Smile. Laugh. Choose to have fun!

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “5 Fall Favorites

Leave a Reply

