Family · Uncategorized

Be A Blessing, Not A Burden

Be a blessing, not a burden. For years, my parents have spoken those words to me. Over and over again. When I was younger I would hear them say it and I would smile, saying that I would try. As the years passed, everytime I heard it said, those words would dig deeper into my heart and mind. They would say it before we went to a friend’s house, church, or a family get-together. When they said it, it wasn’t implying that we were actually a burden. It was a reminder to do our best to be a BLESSING. It was a reminder to not just ‘be there’ lost in the crowd or doing our own thing. It was a reminder to think of others first. It was a reminder to purposely go out of our way to serve and help. It was a reminder that everywhere we go, we should be an example of Christ’s love. Shouldn’t that be what we all aspire to do? Shouldn’t this be a constant thought and prayer? It brings such joy when you truly want to help others and you strive to serve in any way possible. I am so thankful for my parents and the Godly example that they always strive to set for us. Teaching by example is really the best way to teach something. I know that they also really try too remember to be a blessing and not a burden. Because of their actions, I know that it’s not just meaningless words that they are saying. It really is a way of life and a mindset that you have to continually remind yourself to have!

Mathew 23:11-12

But he that is greatest among you shall be your servant. And whosoever shall exalt himself shall be abased; and he that shall humble himself shall be exalted.

2 thoughts on “Be A Blessing, Not A Burden

Leave a Reply

