General · Uncategorized

3 Favorite Book Series

Reading is definitely one of my favorite pastimes! I honestly couldn’t even roughly estimate how many books I’ve read in my life. At least hundreds and hundreds and hundreds. It helps that I am a very quick reader. A normal sized book (around 300 pages) will take me 2-3 hours to read. So most of the time, when I start a book in the evening, it will be finished that very night. I think that reading is so much more entertaining than watching a movie where actors are just acting out parts of a story. When you are reading a book, you can see the characters’ thoughts, emotions, and feel as though you know that character personally. (Or maybe I’m just a little too book crazy… Idk) So, here we go! 3 of my all time favorite fiction book series!!

1st – The Orphan Trains Trilogy by Al & Joanna Lacy

Hands down, the BEST book series I have EVER read. My grandmother first read it to me when I was five years old and I have been in love with it ever since! Set in 1800’s New York City, this story is guaranteed to capture your heart! Thousands of orphans, struggling to survive on the streets of New York. Each one with such a different story. Each with different hopes and dreams. Each wishing for a better life. What does the future hold? Will the orphan trains heading out west be the start of a better future? I don’t want to give away the entire story, so I will just say, GO READ IT!! ASAP!!

Al 1.jpg   Al 2.jpg   Al 3.jpg

2nd – Frontier Doctor Trilogy by Al & Joanna Lacy

*SPOILER ALERT* This is the amazing sequel series to The Orphan Trains Trilogy. Dane Weston has grown up and become a doctor! Sweet little Tharyn has become a nurse! What happens when they get reunited after all of those years apart? Well, they get married of course! It is such a sweet series. Together, Dane and Tharyn eagerly take over a medical practice in a small Colorado mining community. Packed full of action, you won’t want to set the books down! Gun fights, Indian raids, and maybe even a kidnapping! I will warn you, the last book has a bit of a plot twist. But it’s amazing!

al-5 Al 4.jpg al-6

3rd – Shenandoah Sisters by Michael Phillips

Brought together by tragedy, two girls, both orphans, become close friends right after the end of the civil war. One, the plantation owners daughter. The other, the daughter of a slave. Alone with nowhere and no one to turn to, they attempt to keep the plantation running on their own. Will two young woman be able to keep up the guise? What happens when they become responsible for the safety of others? In a single second, their false front could be discovered. What would happen then? Full of twists, turns and multiple plot twists, this will be another series that you won’t want to set down!

abook-2 abook-1 abook-3 Abook4.jpg

I hope you enjoy these book suggestions. I would love to know, what are some of your favorite books or book series? Let me know in the comments below!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “3 Favorite Book Series

  1. Wow!! That post was very exciting to read… and it reminded me that is has been So. Many. Years. since I have read a novel series!!! My mom (your grandma) read us those same Al Lacy books when I was about 16 years old!!

    I do enjoy Isabella Alden (Pansy). My favorites are Tip Lewis and His Lamp & Ester Reid.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I remember all to well reading these books to you. A great memory I hold dear to my heart. What a special time, a special bonding we had. I just read Liam his favorite book last night.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Blue Sky Tag

Leave a Reply

