Food · General · Uncategorized

Healthy Dark Chocolate Banana Muffins

I had some over ripe bananas to use up today, so I went in search of a good banana muffin recipe. Well, after looking through a few recipes, I quickly remembered why I don’t usually follow recipes. I couldn’t find any that actually sounded very good…. The recipes that I read through just sounded bland, boring and tasteless. I don’t know about you, but boring, tasteless food is NOT something that I want to spend my time cooking and baking. 🙂 So I decided to create my own recipe and see how it turned out. Thankfully, these muffins actually turned out amazing! To quote my mother, “Those were the best muffins I’ve ever had! Amazing!” (Now that’s what I like to hear!)

I wanted to make these muffins healthier than most of the “muffins” that are being made nowadays, (AKA CAKE)  So to start, I had to use some of our favorite “healthy cooking” ingredients; wheat bran and flax seed. Seriously though. I put wheat bran and flax seed in almost everything I make. Which might sound a little strange, but it really doesn’t affect the taste of your food, and it makes everything just a little healthier, which is wonderful!

You will notice in the recipe below that I have substituted the butter for coconut oil. (Although you could use butter, it doesn’t really matter.) Once again, it shouldn’t really affect the taste of your food, but it is a healthier, low-fat substitute for butter.

And last but not least, in an attempt to keep this recipe as healthy as possible, (without being absolutely nasty!) I have kept the sugar to a minimum. 3/4 Cup, which is just enough to keep the pure cocoa powder from being to strong and bitter. Although if you would like, you could probably even cut it back to 1/2 a cup of sugar.A muffin

Healthy Dark Chocolate Banana Muffins

  •  1 Cup Oats
  • 1 Cup Milk
  • 2 Cups Flour
  • 3/4 Cup Sugar
  • 3/4 Cup Cocoa Powder
  • 1 Cup Wheat Bran
  • 1/2 Cup Flax Seed
  • 2 1/2 Tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1/2 Tsp. Baking Soda
  • 1 Tsp. Salt
  • 1/2 Cup Coconut Oil (Or Butter) Melted
  • 2 Cups Mashed Bananas
  • 3 Eggs

Combine oats and milk in small bowl and let sit. In large bowl, mix together all dry ingredients. Add oat and milk mixture to dry ingredients.  Stir in coconut oil, mashed bananas, and eggs. Stir batter until smooth. Scoop batter into muffin tins lined with cupcake papers. Bake at 350 for 15-20 minutes.

We love eating these while still warm out of the oven. Best enjoyed with a glass of farm fresh milk 🙂

Simply,

4 thoughts on “Healthy Dark Chocolate Banana Muffins

Leave a Reply

