Family · General · Inspirational · Uncategorized

Being Real, When You Wish You Were Perfect

 

I’ll start this post out with a story from a few months ago. A sweet lady from church had unexpectedly stopped by my house to bring my family something. As soon as I opened the door, she just looked at me with this surprised and somewhat shocked looked on her face. “Wow.” She said, looking me up and down, “You….. You look….. So much different than you do at church!”  When she showed up, I had actually stopped scrubbing a floor to answer the door. I wasn’t wearing a perfectly matched, cute outfit, I was wearing a handmade dress and my apron was wet from my cleaning water. My hair wasn’t curled, in fact if I remember right, it was just thrown up in a messy bun. To top it all off, in the place of stylish heels, I was barefoot. Looking back at the way I know I looked, I can definitely understand why she was so surprised to see me that way. She had only ever seen me at church, when I was practically perfectly put together, in a cute outfit, makeup done, and hair in place. But the reality of it was, that isn’t my real life. When she started talking about how different I looked, honestly, yes I did start getting a little embarrassed. I wished that I would’ve had a few minutes to put on different clothing and do my hair. But then I realized, no. I didn’t need to go change everything just so she thought that I always looked nice. That would have given her a false image of me. Because in reality, I DON’T always look the way that I do at church on Sunday mornings. When she showed up unexpectedly at my door, THAT was life. My real life. Nothing special, just normal, everyday life. Plain and simple. And yes, imperfect.

pexels-photo-412302Let’s be totally honest here, we all like looking like we have our life together. We like having a good image to uphold. We like to act like everything is always roses and sunshine, when in reality, it’s just not! Yes, life is amazing, life is wonderful, life is a great gift from God, but it’s still life. Real life. Life that more often than not, is nowhere near perfect. There’s struggles, there’s mistakes, there’s hurt, there’s defeat, there’s valleys, there’s heartbreak, and on and on the list could go. But when are we going to stop trying to put up a front and acting like our life is always perfect, and instead embrace real life? The real life that God gave us. Life with all of its crazy ups and downs and ins and outs.

It’s time to start being real! With yourself, and with others. It’s okay for someone to take a picture when your hair is a complete mess and your makeup’s not done. It’s okay to admit to someone that you were wrong. It’s okay to make it clear that your life, which others may often think you have in order so well, is nowhere near perfect. It’s okay to hit the PUBLISH button on that blog post that you have been staring at for days or maybe even weeks on end, knowing that it’s not perfect.

When you don’t succeed at something, try again. When it seems like you have failed miserably, you will have another chance. When your day ends in a mess of tears, realize that tomorrow is another day. Another day to serve God. Another day to do the right thing. Yes, another day to make mistakes, but yet another day to succeed. Because this is real life!

Embracing real life means being honest, realizing that you can’t be perfect and you never will be. Realizing that God’s grace is sufficient through it all. Life isn’t always picture perfect. Life isn’t always social media worthy. Life isn’t always like in the books and movies. Life is just life. A wonderful, amazing gift from God, yet so often messy and filled with our many imperfections. And that’s a beautiful thing!

You are enough! You with your messy buns, your skin that’s not perfect, your mistakes, your imperfections, your thoughts, hopes, dreams, and fears, all of it ❤ It’s enough to just be real. And it’s so, so much better than trying to put up a show of fake perfection!

Me? Oh, I am nowhere even close to perfect. I’m doing my best, but without God’s help, nothing I do could ever be good enough. “But she’s the pastor’s daughter! The Christian Blogger!” Oh yes I am, and I am so, so thankful for those areas of my life. But the truth is, I’m so much more than that. Yes, that is a part of my life, but it’s not my whole life. My whole life is not always perfectly in order with everything under control. My real life isn’t always picture perfect. Actually it’s nowhere close.

In real life, I’m the pastor’s daughter who fails to do her devotions everyday.

I’m the Christian blogger who gets tired of writing blog posts; who more often than not feels like she has nothing worth saying that people would actually want to read.

I’m the girl who wanders aimlessly in circles through the house in her sweatpants and messy bun late at night, eating, and trying not to stress about work and school and family and church and everything else in between.

I’m the girl who sometimes sits outside and watches the stars and silently cries because it just seems like nothing is going right.

The girl who can write for hours in her journals and notebooks of all of her thoughts and dreams and hopes and fears.

The girl who isn’t perfect.

Who doesn’t have a perfect life.

Who makes mistakes DAILY.

Who will never STOP making mistakes, yet is trying her best.

That’s me. And that’s my life. The real, wonderful, raw and beautiful life that God has given me to live.

As much as I wish my life was perfect, and as much I wish I could keep it all together, it’s just not possible. Honestly, it’s too exhausting to try to act like your life is always perfect. I can’t be perfect, but I can be real. And so can you. No matter what areas of your life you are struggling with, you don’t have to act like you are perfect. You don’t have to act like you have it all under control. Surrender it all to God. Let HIM take care of the perfection. After all, He truly is the only one who will ever be 100% perfect.

I’m just an ordinary, beautiful mess who serves an absolutely amazing, extraordinary God. That’s real life. And that’s a wonderful thing!

Simply,

Don’t forget, there is one more week to enter the giveaway! If you haven’t entered the giveaway yet, just click here.

27 thoughts on “Being Real, When You Wish You Were Perfect

  1. Very sweet. And very real. I am glad that you aren’t always “Sunday morning ready” but a real down-to-earth-not-afraid-to-get-things-done kind of girl! One of the greatest gifts we can give this life is our sincerity. It takes courage to be yourself and not put up a front. Thanks for hitting that “publish” button!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Thank you so much for this blog post!!! It is so true, you want people to think you have your life together and that everything goes just right!!! But, it doesn’t. And all ya can do is your best and love Jesus with all your heart;). Keep up the amazing work!!!
    ~Abby

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, my goodness Cynthia.❤️Your words are beyond beautiful! Every one of us knows the feeling of never reaching that “perfect standard,” and then feeling bad about ourselves because we don’t, and I think you summed it up wonderfully. Thank you very much for this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “I’m the girl who sometimes sits outside and watches the stars and silently cries because it just seems like nothing is going right.”

    OH MY GODD!! THIS POST SAID THINGS I AM ALWAYS FEELING BUT CAN NEVER PUT INTO PERFECT WORDS!!! I never knew perfect posts existed before reading this!! ❤❤ SUCH BEAUTY OF WORDS, CYNTHIA. 😍 I LOVED IT. I LOVED. IT. I LOVED IT. I LOOOOOOOOVEEEEEDDDDD IT.

    ❤❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Rain! I’m so glad that you loved it so much. And btw….. You definitely win the award for the most energetic comment 😄 Thank you so much for such sweet words ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

