Food · General · Uncategorized

Secret Peanut Butter Brownie Recipe

Okay everyone, it’s time to put away all of the boxed brownie mixes. Like for good. Forever. Seriously, you won’t regret it!  These brownies……. Honestly I still don’t know if I should actually be sharing these recipes……… If you know me, you most likely know that peanut butter brownies are my “signature dish.” But, I’ve had so many people asking for my brownie recipe, I guess it’s time to disclose this secret information….. But you have to promise not to tell anyone. Keep it quiet please. Ok?? Okay good, now let’s get on to the recipe and have some fun baking!

pexels-photo-271082(Yes, that’s a picture of sugar. Sorry, I don’t have a picture of these brownies. They usually get devoured too quickly)

This peanut butter brownie recipe is the result of hours upon hours of baking and experimenting. For years, I have tried recipe after recipe, changing this, adding a little bit of that, and tweaking here and there. Most of the recipes turned out really well and people loved them, but I was still searching and experimenting for that perfect brownie. So far, this is as close as I’ve gotten. And for now, I’m pretty happy with it!

Peanut Butter Brownies

  • 3/4 Cup Buter
  • 1 1/3 Cup Unsweetened Baking Cocoa Powder
  • 1 Cup Flour
  • 1/2 Tsp. Baking Powder
  • 1 Tsp. Salt
  • 6 Eggs (best at room temperature)
  • 2 Cups Peanut Butter
  • 1 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
  • 2 3/4 Cup Powdered Sugar
  • 3 Tsp. Vanilla Extract

Preheat oven to 325. Grease and flour a 9×13 pan. (You can easily halve this recipe for an 8×8 pan)

Place butter in small saucepan and melt on medium-low heat until it is warm, but not simmering. Add the cocoa powder and whisk until smooth. Let butter and cocoa mixture sit for at least 5 minutes. This process is called blooming the cocoa. Trust me, it makes an amazing difference in the taste of your brownies. It is well worth the extra few minutes!

Meanwhile, in a small bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt. In a larger bowl, mix together the eggs, peanut butter, powdered sugar, and brown sugar until well combined. Fold in the vanilla. Add the cocoa mixture and flour mixture alternatively, and mix until batter is smooth and shiny. Oh, and for fudgier brownies, they should be mixed by hand, not with a hand held or stand mixer. Be sure to handle the batter carefully and do not whisk vigorously or over mix. Using a plastic spatula, transfer the brownie batter into the prepared baking pan. Bake in the preheated oven for 20-35 minutes. (Baking time varies depending on how fudgy or chewy you would prefer them to be.) When they are done, you will see, the edges will begin to pull away from the pan. NOTE: A knife inserted in the middle will not come out clean, even when they are done.

Now for the frosting. These brownies are plenty amazing without any frosting, but if you would like to add an extra touch of deliciousness, this peanut butter frosting is the perfect addition. Now I’m not a frosting person. Not at all. But this frosting is the exception. You will totally understand after you try it. It’s a basic, light and fluffy cream cheese frosting that I’ve always seen made by my mother, who was taught by her father who ran a bakery. I think that should just speak for itself that it’s pretty amazing! Oh and for you picky eaters, don’t be a food snob because it’s made with cream cheese. Seriously, you just have to try it and I guarantee you will think it’s amazing. 😉 This frosting recipe is actually kind of hard to write down, because I don’t use measurements when I make it, but I will try to be as close to accurate as possible.

Peanut Butter Frosting

  • 1/2 a 16oz Package of Cream Cheese
  • 1/2 Stick Soft Butter
  • 1 to 2 Cups Peanut Butter (Depending on how much peanut butter you like)
  • 1 TB Vanilla Extract
  • 7-10 Cups Powdered Sugar

With a hand or stand mixer, combine ingredients in the order listed. A splash of milk may need to be added to be sure that the frosting is fluffy, smooth, and creamy.

Well there you go, that’s all there is to it! Have fun baking!

Simply,

 

 

 

50 thoughts on “Secret Peanut Butter Brownie Recipe

      1. Haha yeah you will understand after you try them. Making these brownies can make you kind of famous, so you might not even want to share the recipe 😉

        Like

      2. You probably are thinking I don’t like the brownies since I didn’t share them yet?! Well, sadly I haven’t even had the time to make them yet! 😦 That’s why I didn’t get them on the blog yet…. Just thought I’d let you know in case you were worried. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I was just looking for a dessert to make tonight! 😀 Do you like to bake? One time I made my little brother a birthday a cake and it was a two layer cake and literally it was leaning VERY FAR to one side. XD
    -Laura

    Liked by 1 person

  2. They don’t sound as good as my mom’s! No, just kidding they sound good! But seriously my mom’s are incredible! I will try making them because I need some brownies right about now! I know how you feel with trying to get them perfect! I spent almost 3 years perfecting mine and actually won 2nd place prize at a fair! My mom won 1st place at the fair for hers!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I did try them and they could be right up there with my mom’s but they were a little to buttery. I have 7 brothers 👦 and 9 sisters 👩. My mom is having twins. They are identical little girls. There names are going to be Brailee Jane and Brooke Hope. They are due in June. Any way what I was saying with my siblings was they loved them 💜 Well so a did my parents. I did need to double these how ever in order to feed my siblings and parents so 19 people ! 😀

        Disclaimer: So ya’ll know I was not trying to brag about having lots of siblings. I just thought I would tell you about them. It is a blast having lots of siblings!😀

        In Christian love, Joy Anna from Texas

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Wow, Joy Anna! That is definitely a lot of siblings! But that’s great, having a big family and a lot of siblings is so much fun. Never any lack of excitement or adventure with that big of a family! ☺ I’m so glad that you enjoyed the brownies. I realized now after you mentioned there being a little too much butter, I accidentally put the wrong amount of butter in the recipe…. It’s only supposed to be 3/4 of a cup. Sorry about that! But I’m so glad they turned out for you. Oh, and thanks so much for stopping by, it’s great to have you! ❤

        Like

  3. Hey Cynthia! The brownies were amazing! But….. they were just a little to sweet and there was way to much butter so I cut down the amount of butter and they were still good! I am sorry if I offended you in any way. But overall they were good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Abby! First, no I’m not at all offended in any way ☺ Everyone has different taste (I personally think they are too sweet if eaten in really large pieces. Also, the frosting adds a lot more sweet, so yes I definitely understand) Oh, and I realized that I had written down the wrong amount of butter. It’s only supposed to be 3/4 cup. Hope that helps and thanks for commenting!

      Like

  4. Hello Cynthia! Yes it is a lot of siblings but it is to much fun! Everyone always has someone to hang out with! Yes you are correct about never having lack of excitement! How I ended up finding your blog was…. my sister’s and I were watching piano videos(most of my sister’s and some of my brother can play and so can my parents) and a video of you playing popped up on your family’s channel. Along with playing piano me and some of my siblings play violin, harp, guitar, banjo, trumpet, and flute. We found your blog in the description below the video. We were very blessed to have found your blog. It is not easy to find a blog that is written by a Godly saved young lady. Your piano skills are incredible! Remember piano skills is something that God has blessed you with. Not everyone is blessed with that skill. I will continue to read your blog and be blessed by it for sure! I might not always comment because I am usually busy with helping with my younger siblings but I will try to at least read your blog. So even if I do not comment that does not mean I am not reading your blog. Your blog is an amazing blessing! We are blessed with an independent fundamental Baptist church around 20 minutes from our home. Our family was sick with bad colds on Sunday and we were able to listen to your dad preach on youtube right in our living room which was a blessing so we could still hear preaching from Gods word. We are praying for you and your family Cynthia! I also saw that you are the oldest of 5 children under the about section and was wondering it you might be able to tell me your siblings names and ages? Remember being the oldest your siblings watch you so you need to be a good example. And by reading your blog I can tell you are setting a good example. Could you do a post on the blog about your siblings and what they like and what your favorite thing about each sibling is. Also if there is any thing our family could pray about for you feel free to tell me and we will pray for it.

    In Christian love, Joy-Anna💜 Psalm 12:6-7

    Like

    1. Wow, that is truly an incredible story about how you found my family’s YouTube and then this blog! My family and I are so glad that we could be an encouragement to you and your family through the music, preaching, and this blog. It is a great encouragement to hear! That is also a great idea about doing a siblings post. I am currently visiting extended family in Iowa (which is why I haven’t published any new blog posts in the past few weeks) but when I get back home to PA in a few weeks, I am looking forward to starting to blog a lot again and will definitely have to write a sibling post! Thank you and and your family for your prayers, and we will be praying for your family too. I understand that you are busy so may not be commenting much, but it will be nice to hear from you. Also if you have questions or would simply like to talk or something, feel free to contact me through the contact page ☺ That way you won’t have to specifically comment on a post. Also because I’m fine with telling you my siblings names and ages and stuff, but I don’t really want to put that all on this public blog so the contact page would work best for stuff like that. And I’d love to hear more about your family as well!

      Have a wonderful day! ❤ Cynthia

      Like

  5. Hey Cynthia, so people don’t add to much butter like me and Abby you should consider changing the amount if you said the amount was to much. Thanks! Joy💜

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

